The building at 19 rue Cambon was acquired by Emmanuel Javal, founder of Le Grand Réservoir. The commercial offer of rue Saint-Honoré was at the time composed of low-quality, global duty free multi-brands, intended mainly for tourists. Despite Chanel’s historic roots in the area, luxury brands were not intended.

 

The installation of innovative players, such as Colette and the Hotel Costes, attracted a new community to the neighbourhood. Innovation attracts new communities in physical areas and this way contributes to urban renewal. Emmanuel Javal took over this 18th-century building, then occupied by low-end shops and various offices, with the desire to create an identity of the luxury industry. The strategy was initially to rehabilitate the building and unveil its essence. The renovations were carried out with great care and a constant search for meaning while respecting and enhancing the original building.

 

Secondly, Emmanuel Javal aimed to bring together the best players and guaranty the ecosystem coherence. These players had to be receptive to its aesthetics, its history and its soul, and were not always the highest bidder. The players of a venue participate to telling its story. Carlos Miele and Audemars Piguet were the first to join the adventure. The luxury industry was the precursor of the store-media, identifying the leverage of real estate for the renewal of retail. Stores should not be at the maximum of the generated turnover, but rather at the maximum of their identity, and transmit brand positioning, values and experience, other than just selling products. 

 

Following the success of the experiment, Chanel decided to set up its offices there, then to acquire the whole building all in 2011

Credit: Chanel

Credit: Audemars Piguet
RECEIVE OUR NEWSLETTER
(Articles on the innovation of uses, news from Le Grand Réservoir)
OUR NEWSLETTER
LE GRAND RÉSERVOIR contact@legrandreservoir.com

6 rue Juliette Dodu 75010 Paris

RECEIVE OUR NEWSLETTER
(Articles on the innovation of uses, news from Le Grand Réservoir)
OUR NEWSLETTER

L’immeuble du 19 rue Cambon est l’objet initiateur du constat d’Emmanuel Javal, fondateur du Grand Réservoir. L’offre commerciale de la rue Saint-Honoré était à l’époque composée de multimarques globales duty free peu qualitatifs, destinées à un public majoritairement touristique. Hormis l’ancrage historique de Chanel dans le quartier, les marques du secteur du luxe ne s’y projetaient pas.

 

Puis, l’installation d’acteurs innovants comme Colette et l’Hôtel Costes ont attiré une nouvelle communauté dans le quartier. Ainsi, l’innovation draine les communautés dans les lieux physiques, et son implantation participe au renouvellement urbain. Emmanuel Javal s’est alors positionné sur cet hôtel particulier datant du 18ème siècle, alors occupé par les commerces de bas standing, et des bureaux quelconques, avec la volonté d’y créer une identité affichée : celle du Grand Luxe. La stratégie a consisté dans un premier temps à réhabiliter le bâtiment, afin de révéler son essence. Les rénovations furent menées grand soin et une constante quête de sens, dans le respect et la mise en lumière de l’existant.

 

Dans un second temps, il s’est agit d’y réunir les bons acteurs, en se positionnant comme le garant de l’écosystème et de la cohérence : des acteurs sensibles à son esthétique, à son histoire, et son âme, et non pas les plus offrants. Les acteurs d’un lieu participent à raconter son histoire. Carlos Miele, et Audemars Piguet furent les premiers à rejoindre l’aventure. Le luxe fut ainsi le précurseur du store-media, et à identifier le levier de l’immobilier pour le renouvellement du Retail. Il ne s’agit pas tant pour les boutiques d’être au maximum du chiffre d’affaire généré, mais plutôt d’être au maximum de leur identité. Transmettre le positionnement de la marque, ses valeurs, et son expérience, bien plus que de vendre des produits. 

 

Suite au succès de l’expérience, Chanel a décidé d’y implanter ses bureaux, puis d’acquérir l’ensemble en 2011.

Crédit : Chanel

 

Crédit : Chanel

 

Crédit : Chanel

 

RECEVEZ NOTRE NEWSLETTER
(Articles sur l'innovation des usages, actualité du Grand Réservoir)
NOTRE NEWSLETTER
LE GRAND RÉSERVOIR contact@legrandreservoir.com

15 / 17 rue Vulpian, 75013 Paris

RECEVEZ NOTRE NEWSLETTER
(Articles sur l'innovation des usages, actualité du Grand Réservoir)
NOTRE NEWSLETTER